Didacte allows you to conduct live lessons through its virtual classroom feature on the Pro and Enterprise plans. This tool allows teachers to distribute content to their students remotely interactively.

Note that during the beta, virtual classrooms won't be available for replay and the content won't be recorded. For this, you can already create live lessons with Youtube Live in Didacte.

Note: This type of lesson may be incompatible with the “On enroll” type of drip content training since newly registered students will not have access to your virtual classroom.

We advise you to take the time to do a test session with a few colleagues or partners to master the tool before planning your first live broadcast.
 

Configure your first virtual classroom on Didacte

Under the Plan tab of existing or new training, you can add a lesson of type "Virtual classroom" to your training plan, enter a title, then save.

Attention: The virtual classroom lesson mustn't be the last one in your training plan.

By clicking on "Edit content", you can configure the date and time of your course.

Limit the number of participants

As the goal of the virtual classroom is to interact with your participants, the best is to limit the number of registrations for each session. Use the course versions to duplicate your lesson plan and set a maximum registration number for your training.

You can do as many versions as you plan to do sessions!

Once the lesson has been recorded, you will be able to access the virtual classroom. Take advantage of this opportunity to familiarize yourself with this new interface. However, the changes you make to it will be deleted if you leave the classroom before it is broadcasted.

Discover the virtual classroom tool

Welcome to your virtual classroom! Several features are available to you, which we will divide into 5 categories:

  1. Participation and animation
  2. Presentation management
  3. Messages and notes
  4. User Management
  5. Other settings

1. Participation

When you and your participants connect to the classroom, you have the option of joining the audio with a microphone or listening only. It is only once this step is completed that it will be possible to add the video in the menu at the bottom of the presentation.

In this same menu, you have the option to mute your microphone, mute the audio, share your webcam, or share your screen. You can change these options at any time.
 

2. Presentation management

To replace the presentation, you must click on the "+" button in the lower-left corner. You have the option of selecting a video already online (you will need the URL) or uploading a presentation.

We recommend that you save your presentation as a PDF, as some Microsoft Office fonts are not supported.

Thanks to the menu on the right side, you have access to animation tools such as a pointer, text input, a brush, etc. You can even give access to these functions to all your participants for more interactivity!

You can switch slides and zoom in/out from the menu in the lower right corner of the presentation. Participants will see the same thing unless they have hidden the presentation (see the blue button in the upper right corner).

Hiding the presentation can also allow you to see all of your participants better if their webcams are activated!
 

3. Messages and notes

The public discussion allows a live chat with all the participants of the session. Shared notes also offer the possibility of exchanging text, without however identifying the participant who wrote.

The virtual classroom also allows for a private chat. To speak to only one of your users, you can click on their name and start a private chat.
 

4. User Management

This section is certainly the most complete in terms of options and features. As a presenter, you can change certain settings for one or all of the users.

By clicking on a user, you can chat with them in private, make them mute (useful for eliminating noise distractions), modify their role or remove them from the session.

The three possible roles are:

  • Presenter, the one who controls the progress of the presentation and the animation
  • Moderator(s), the one or those who support the presenter (restricted access)
  • Normal users, those who attend and participate to the course

Above your list is a gear icon that allows you to manage users. Under this menu, you have several options, such as muting all users, locking viewers, and creating breakout rooms (private meetings).

Locking viewers allows you to block certain functions including sharing the webcam or microphone, messages, and notes or even the list of participants.

Breakout rooms can be used to create breakout sessions in small groups. Users will be separated, either predetermined or random. Presenters and moderators can navigate between rooms from the main classroom, under the "Breakout Rooms" tab in the menu on the left.

To bring all the users back to the main classroom, you have 2 options. You can wait for the meeting to end if you have specified the duration or click the "End all breakout rooms" button.
 

5. Other settings

In the upper right corner, the icon of the 3 small superimposed dots gives you access to some additional options. By opening the settings, each user can control these options individually.

If one of your participants uses a slow internet connection, you can advise them to change the data saving options in their settings.

When you want to end the virtual classroom, you need to click on the "End Meeting" button.

 
Again, we strongly recommend that you test the tool's environment before the day of your live meeting.

Avez-vous trouvé votre réponse?